Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion > Antique Engine Archives
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Engine Archives All archived posts from 1999 to 2004 when SmokStak was on EnginAds. This is a read-only board.

Antique Engine Archives

removal of valve cage and nut, novo S

this thread has 5 replies and has been viewed 1725 times

Old 12-19-2002, 01:21:44 PM
david hadley

Default removal of valve cage and nut, novo S

I have just obtained a 4ph Novo type S. Both valves are frozen in cages and retaining nuts are frozen in head. I have been soaking them for 2 months or so. I sand blasted the head this week so I could get a good look at things. On the exhaust side the square nut of the retaining nut is broken away so there is nothing to grab. I could drill two holes in the nut and make a pin wrench, or I could make a deep hole saw and drill the retainging nut out. What is the thread size of the retainging nut? I could make a new one. I don't want to break the valve cage if I can help it. any ideas?? Thanks, Dave from Omemee
Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-2002, 02:55:36 PM
Tom Winland

Default Re: removal of valve cage and nut, novo S

Can you weld a nut to the top to turn it out with.

Tom Winland Ohio
Old 12-19-2002, 04:28:57 PM
Subscriber