Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Browser Configuration


this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 2993 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2006, 09:25:21 PM
Kevin Lemmon's Avatar
Kevin Lemmon Kevin Lemmon is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Browser Configuration

How do I reset my browser to allow me to see the links on the e-bay section ? THANKS KEVIN
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-2006, 01:10:05 AM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 15,518
Thanks: 16,785
Thanked 20,741 Times in 6,005 Posts
Default Re: Browser Configuration

You don't say which browser you are using but I'm guessing it's IE......
MANY problems, INCLUDING uploading pics to THIS SITE, can be fixed by clearing out all your temp files. They are CALLED temp files because that is what they ARE. Some are SCARED TO DEATH to delete this JUNK and then wonder why their browser or computer is either SLOW or not working right.

In your browser click on TOOLS; INTERNET OPTIONS; Delete Files at which point a popup will open......check DELETE ALL OFFLINE CONTENT and then OK. Now click on CLEAR HISTORY (I have MINE set for 0 days). Close and open your browser and I'll bet things will work differently.
Please post back.....I have another little "built in" windows utility that most people don't use........but SHOULD.......

Here is a terrific program that will clean out ALL your temp files from ALL the places Windows keeps this junk: http://www.stevengould.org/software/.../download.html
Don't worry about the disclaimer.....but if it will make you feel better set a restore point before running the program.
I use it EVERY SINGLE DAY on BOTH my BUSINESS and HOME computers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2006, 01:19:26 AM
Harry's Avatar
Harry Harry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sarasota, Florida USA
Posts: 6,930
Thanks: 601
Thanked 14,507 Times in 2,522 Posts
Default Re: Browser Configuration

The eBay links do not show if you are running Norton Internet Security or other types of firewalls. I run McAffee and have had no problem with that, but Norton is definitely a problem.

SmokStak and Enginads uses an item called HTTP_REFERER so as to be certain that only our programs run our programs. You need to turn on HTTP_REFERER if you have it turned off.

Also, Norton may be purposely dumping advertising. That's what pays the bill here so please do set up your firewall with www.smokstak.com and www.enginads.com in the allowed section. www.qksrv.net handles our eBay links, so add them to the OK list too.

In short, if you cripple your web browser, features that you may want will be lost.
__________________
(See our Terms of Service)
-- Harry Engines Ignitions Videos Photos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:43:18 PM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 15,518
Thanks: 16,785
Thanked 20,741 Times in 6,005 Posts
Default Re: Browser Configuration

I also use McAfee VirusScan ONLY....NOT the "suite"....for virus protection and ISS Black Ice as a software firewall in addition to the hardware firewall in my wireless router and have never experienced any problems anywhere at any time.
Norton............been there done that............
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2006, 07:45:14 PM
Ken Majeski's Avatar
Ken Majeski Ken Majeski is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Lawton, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,826
Thanks: 1,600
Thanked 2,447 Times in 850 Posts
Default Re: Browser Configuration

Well....???? I got Updated Nortons on 2 PC's and have no problem with Harrys advertisers or Ebay Links...????

Maybe just Because I'm a Nice Guy....

Only Problem I have had Lately is with My Lovely Satellite ISP... It just starts Working Good... Then they Mess with it and Screw it all up....
__________________
Ken Majeski, Ellsworth Wis.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Browser Test - Is your YouTube up to Speed? Harry YouTube Old Iron Videos 2 01-04-2019 11:45:26 AM
YouTube Speed, Your Browser and Your ISP Harry Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 0 05-29-2018 06:45:13 PM
Wrap Smokstak Youtube button (Adobe Flash / Browser Problem) Brothers Clemens Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 25 08-29-2016 11:06:38 PM
Anyone using Opera browser please note... Thaumaturge Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 1 06-27-2015 01:17:02 AM
What is he 4/R configuration ? tdarden Onan Generators 9 11-14-2014 09:45:09 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08:48 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277