Steam Engines
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Old Iron and Tractor Community > Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines Antique steam engines, their boilers, pumps, gauges, whistles and other related things that make them run.

Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines

How is this displacement lubricator operated?

this thread has 8 replies and has been viewed 5014 times

Old 12-31-2007, 01:52:24 PM
Registered

Default How is this displacement lubricator operated?

I have a number of these displacement lubricators and I thought I understood them; but, after I studied them I realize I don't.

I'm more familiar with displacement lubricators for scale model equipment. All of them that I have seen have drains on them. When they need to be re-filled with oil, the water can be easily drained out, first.

But, how about the Powell unit pictured here? The more I study it the more I realize I'm totally in the dark, completely ignorant.

How is it supposed to be drained? There is a plug on the bottom of the sight glass. Is it intended as the drain? If that is the case, it would appear that the plug would show obvious "wrench tracks," but it doesn't.

What is the function of the sight glass? I have one of these open and I see a tube going to the top of the oil chamber. Because oil floats on top of the water, obviously the tube is to carry the oil out of the chamber and out the bottom. The sight glass taps into the bottom of the oil chamber, so it would seem to me that steam will flow up through the needle-valve at the bottom and condense into water in the sight glass.

If that surmise is correct, (but I'm guessing it isn't) wouldn't the sight glass always be filled with water? I don't understand what information that sight glass is supposed to provide.