Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Wood Shop and Projects
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Wood Shop and Projects Engine Skids & Carts, Pattern Making, General wood shop projects and tools.

Wood Shop and Projects

Bulding a Barn / Shop

this thread has 44 replies and has been viewed 4401 times

Old 12-01-2017, 09:21:22 PM
Subscriber

Default Bulding a Barn / Shop

I recently moved from NY to Tn. I am building a pole barn to work out of, store stuff and tinker around in. I do carpentry for a living. I have some hit and miss engines, generator's, and small engine stuff. How would you build your barn?. I have already started. 24 by 30, with a 10 ft ceiling height. I will be pouring a concrete slab in the next couple weeks, the barn framing is already built. I will need heat and air conditioning, if I am going to enjoy tinkering in there in the hot or cold weather. Tennessee is a warmer climate, should I put pex tubing in the floor for heat? could I then run cold water, via an old drilled well ( not in use anymore) for cooling in the summer.? This will be a several year project, completing it as money allows. obviously I will have to insulate it before trying to heat or cool it. I will put in my dust collection system and lots of electrical outlets, and maybe even a small section to set up the little mig welder safely. Any arc welding I will probably do outside. Any thought on what guys you have done or would do would be cool.
Sponsored Links
Old 12-01-2017, 09:54:32 PM
Subscriber

Default Re: bulding a barn / shop

In floor heat is really nice. Won't work as air conditioning though. Would just make your floor sweat like crazy and be slick as snot.
Old 12-01-2017, 10:03:00 PM
Registered