Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Old Iron and Tractor Community > Antique Farm Tractors
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Farm Tractors Vintage farm tractors on rubber tires with various implements. Ford, John Deere, Oliver, McCormick and more.

Antique Farm Tractors

Minneapolis Moline U. Love em, Hate em? Got Stories Or Pictures Of Yours ?

this thread has 56 replies and has been viewed 7701 times

Old 01-03-2017, 11:10:06 PM
Subscriber

Thanked 8,293 Times in 1,356 Posts
Default Minneapolis Moline U. Love em, Hate em? Got Stories Or Pictures Of Yours ?

I have owned several MM Us over the years.
All of them seemed to be good tractors. I have been running this 1952 LP standard for several years now and it is one of the best running hardest pulling machines I have ever had. It is a high compression 283 and burns clean with smooth idle and lots of power. Has big stones all the way 'round and weighted to bite. This tractor pulls three sixteens with ease. I usually am just dragging stuff around with it and I like the one short step to the ground and hand clutch for hooking and unhooking. Swinging the seat to one side is also handy for standing up in between jumping on and off.
Have heard old timers say things like "no one ever lived long enough to wear out a U". Have seen them bored and stroked to extremes for pullers that really ROAR down the track and the stock trannys and final drives seem to take the pounding pretty well!
Only thing I can bitch about is these tractors have no sale value. I am keeping this one because it is an amazing old brute, but is virtually worthless on the market with no 3 point and power steering
Other colors of this vintage are good machines with low value these days too.