Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Machine Shop and Tool Talk
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Machine Shop and Tool Talk Shop Equipment, fabrication, repairs, how to fix it, which tool to use for the job. Machinist shop talk, straight to the point.

Machine Shop and Tool Talk

What Lathe Tooling Do I Need


this thread has 45 replies and has been viewed 2231 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-02-2019, 09:04:57 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Came across this vid on parting a couple days ago, have not tried it myself, and only possible with a non-threaded spindle. Seems to work, intend to try it myself.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RZRq0olsxM
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dalmatiangirl61 For This Post:
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 05-03-2019, 01:19:50 AM
cobbadog cobbadog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coopernook. N.S.W. Australia
Posts: 1,843
Thanks: 3,315
Thanked 821 Times in 553 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

What a simple solution. I too will be putting this into action here as I do have this problem.
Something to help me out a bit more is that when I set the cutting tool height I set it to the live centre in the tail stock and the cutting edge level with the tip. Is this correct or the reason for my issues?

Thanks for posting this Dal

As for the cut off tool, when in use it does go straight in and so far has not touched the sides so I must have it set sqaure to the job and the tool holder sitting nice and flat. I will try your idea as well in moving the tool back in close to the post and move it out only when required. My 4 post tool holder has 4 tools sitting in place so I can simply loosen the pivot lever on top that locks it all in place and swing around the next tool when needed.
I should start another thread on using a boring bar as I am having slight issues here too, but I don't do much boring. So in time I will put something up with pics so you can set me straight.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-03-2019, 08:16:13 AM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Quote:
Originally Posted by dalmatiangirl61 View Post
Came across this vid on parting a couple days ago, have not tried it myself, and only possible with a non-threaded spindle. Seems to work, intend to try it myself.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RZRq0olsxM
The chucks on my South Bend are screw on. I'd probably launch it across the room trying this method.

Cob, I'll assume you use the old scale between the tool and work method to set tool height.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8212.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	334030   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8213.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	334031  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #24  
Old 05-03-2019, 02:35:58 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Yes using a center in tailstock to set parting tool height is the right way, to set squareness to workpiece I move cutter over and set square to face of chuck.

Oldstuff
Yes threaded chuck on my old Atlas makes upside down cutter a useless suggestion for the new owner.

Replaced the Atlas with a YAM last year, got it cheap because it had zero tooling, not even a chuck. Did not think finding a chuck for it would be such a big deal, I was wrong. After a year of searching ebay, and passing on some beat-up old ones, finally got a NOS 8" 4 jaw A1-5 mount chuck this past week at a reasonable cost. Search continues for a 3 jaw.
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalmatiangirl61 For This Post:
  #25  
Old 05-03-2019, 03:20:15 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

^ Yowch.. I'm seeing $700-800 for a 3 jaw A1-5.

Maybe this then use any 3 jaw? Available in several diameters.
https://www.smalltools.com/bison-sem...-for-8-chucks/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #26  
Old 05-03-2019, 06:33:57 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Yep, that's the problem! I've considered going the adapter plate route, and may have to at least till I find the right one. Whereas most adapter plates you mount to chuck, and it stays with chuck, with A1-5 you have to mount adapter to spindle, then chuck to adapter, and remove in reverse sequence, it just makes it a PIA!

I need a deal on a 3 jaw like I got on the 4 jaw
https://www.ebay.com/itm/KITAGAWA-8-...rdt=true&rt=nc
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-03-2019, 08:35:18 PM
Steve Kreiner's Avatar
Steve Kreiner Steve Kreiner is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Plymouth, New York, USA
Posts: 1,691
Thanks: 1,961
Thanked 822 Times in 395 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Steve what was the question you asked?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-03-2019, 09:51:34 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

D:
Whoa... Kitagawa, first rate stuff!
In general, you possibly have buyers remorse as it's such a pain in the ass. $$
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #29  
Old 05-04-2019, 02:23:51 AM
cobbadog cobbadog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coopernook. N.S.W. Australia
Posts: 1,843
Thanks: 3,315
Thanked 821 Times in 553 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Cob, I'll assume you use the old scale between the tool and work method to set tool height.[/QUOTE]


Being an absolute novice with a lathe I'm sorry but I don't understand the what you are asking about "using the old scale" when I set up.
The way I have been doing it is to wind the saddle towards the tailstock which has a 'live centre' in it and I set the tool height to be in line with the very point of the live centre.
Then to set it square to my job I have the lathe switched off and I then wind the saddle towards the chuck and with the cross slide out towards me i keep winding until the parting off tool is sitting level against the chuck. If you are watching what you are doing if you go too far forward the cutting tip moves away from the chuck and if not far enough in the tool holder is not against the chuck.
Thank you for any and all bits of information offered.
Cheers Cobba
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-04-2019, 04:38:12 AM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Take a small measuring scale and hold it straight vertically against the work. Run the tool into it and it'll show you where the tool is hitting the work. When the tool is centered, the scale will be held vertically. In my #1 pic post 23, the tool is a bit high as the scale tilts inward.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #31  
Old 05-04-2019, 11:26:17 PM
OTTO-Sawyer's Avatar
OTTO-Sawyer OTTO-Sawyer is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scioto Mills, Illinois USA
Posts: 8,964
Thanks: 20,762
Thanked 7,886 Times in 3,750 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Maybe a Visual Will Help You Understand it Better. . .
Plus This Guy Took it a Step Further by Double-Checking with a Square.


Or Get Yourself One of the gauges. . .



Or Make Yourself a Simple Gauge Block. . .



Depending on your lathe size and configuration, a home made block can be made that will fit in-line with the tooling (cut off, turning tools, boring bar, etc.) and be able to set them directly to the gauge eliminating the need for an indicator. There are More videos showing different ways of making them, I just chose this one because it was relatively short. . .
"Make It Your Own" or copy one of their designs.
__________________
I just keep coming back again and again like the Evil Twin of a Bad Penny !
http://www.youtube.com/user/oldSawyer?feature=watch
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OTTO-Sawyer For This Post:
  #32  
Old 05-05-2019, 01:04:14 AM
cobbadog cobbadog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coopernook. N.S.W. Australia
Posts: 1,843
Thanks: 3,315
Thanked 821 Times in 553 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Thanks Guys for the tips. I was never smart enough to use the metal rule as an indicator but it is a simple way of getting to the right height.
With my lathe I have to use shims to raise the height so I have a number of different ones in the drawer to make the adjustment.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cobbadog For This Post:
  #33  
Old 05-06-2019, 03:17:38 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Quote:
Originally Posted by I like oldstuff View Post
In general, you possibly have buyers remorse as it's such a pain in the ass. $$
You notice seller did not say what it fit, I could tell it was A something, did have buyers reservations, but it showed up today, just got finished measuring it, pretty sure it fits A1-5 spindle. Nice chuck, looks unused, and its lathe tooling I need!
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-06-2019, 05:15:52 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

^Clean and fit it up and of course pics of machine pron are required.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-06-2019, 05:32:14 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Couple pics from last year, previous owner was repainting it, then lost interest in the project, said it had been gracing his garage for 10 years and mocking him, he just wanted it gone. It looked like 10 years of dust, pics below are after a half hour wipe down. Even came with a turret tailstock! Can't fit the chuck just yet, lathe is in Nv, and I'm not
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yam 2.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	152.8 KB
ID:	334269   Click image for larger version

Name:	yam 3.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	334270   Click image for larger version

Name:	yam 6.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	127.0 KB
ID:	334271  
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dalmatiangirl61 For This Post:
  #36  
Old 05-06-2019, 08:27:42 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Hefty looking machine and you'll love the turret! You have a nice production tool there.
And it's a 2 stroke judging by the expansion pipes next to the turret.

By it's size I'll assume it's 3 phase. Are you going the converter route or do you have 3ph in the building.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-07-2019, 03:23:38 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 5,758
Thanked 4,176 Times in 2,057 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

For now I'm using a rotary converter for most of my machines, the building in Nv has 3ph available, need to save up to bring it in, and power co wants a 5k deposit

The Yam/Yang lathes are a Taiwanese copy of a Mori Seiki, from the reviews from real users, they are nice machines, hopefully I'll get it up and running this year.
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalmatiangirl61 For This Post:
  #38  
Old 05-07-2019, 03:29:01 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,259
Thanks: 1,599
Thanked 7,416 Times in 2,722 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

For $5k you can run the converter for a hella long time.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-10-2019, 11:57:28 AM
Alphonse's Avatar
Alphonse Alphonse is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 18 Times in 6 Posts
Thumbs up Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

I just posted a video on a 4 way tool post I made for my Logan 10" lathe, and some other shop made tooling. You can take a look see...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMCp_o1E-V8
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alphonse For This Post:
  #40  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:52:44 PM
tdmidget tdmidget is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 221
Thanks: 73
Thanked 74 Times in 60 Posts
Default Re: What Lathe tooling do I need

Apparently Cobbadog is ahead of everyone else here as he knows the difference between a rule and a scale.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tdmidget For This Post:
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Help needed to identify Puller J and B Tooling Firewoodguy Machine Shop and Tool Talk 2 12-08-2018 06:06:57 PM
Smith Drum Gap Bed Engine Lathe with Tooling Charley K Machine Shop and Tool Talk 9 02-25-2018 07:54:59 PM
lathe tooling KyleBlankenship Machine Shop and Tool Talk 17 01-09-2014 03:16:37 PM
Need Atlas Lathe Tooling and Parts Access larry bee Machine Shop and Tool Talk 8 05-24-2011 06:39:36 AM
Bridgeport tooling. Greg Shipley Machine Shop and Tool Talk 14 05-16-2008 11:00:20 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07:25 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277