Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion

Stover CT-3 is my First Hit and Miss Engine

this thread has 18 replies and has been viewed 2850 times

Old 10-31-2017, 10:33:42 PM
Registered

Default Stover CT-3 is my First Hit and Miss Engine

Ok so I'm a newbie in hit and miss engines. For some reason, I made it deep into middle age without realizing I really needed one. I've tinkered on a few John Deere tractors including a 1952 A, and run a few Harleys including a 1976 Shovelhead, but it wasn't until the Steam and Gas Meet in Bridgewater this summer that I realized I needed something different. I'd taken a hand cranked corn sheller and enough earcorn to last the week, but the kids blew through that stack in one night so I had some time to look around, and that's when the bug bit. I started watching the ads and looked at several engines but most were mis-represented. I finally found a machine in my home town from a guy known for having good running equipment. The price was very fair and he took an interest in getting me off to a good start. So, I've hauled it home and now I have Wendel's Power In The Past 3 and I'm reading as many posts as I can. It's a 1930 Stover CT-3 closed crank hit and miss that was reportedly used to grind feed in a mill in Frederick, Maryland. It seems complete, and it ran well when I bought. I don't have the nerve yet to try starting it. I'm hoping you guys can help with some questions. I'll post pics shortly, I hope.

---------- Post added at 10:33:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:24:45 PM ----------