Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Paint Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Paint Shop Tech. Talk about paint removers, thinners, primers and application techniques plus related topics. Rust removal, paint substitutes and color matching.

Paint Shop

What paint and primer should I use?

this thread has 11 replies and has been viewed 8808 times

Old 08-31-2010, 09:25:23 PM
Registered

Default What paint and primer should I use?

i have a 1953 john deere r i was wondering if i should use the john deere paint and primer or go to the auto parts store and get ppg and have it color matched help me out its my first time also any tips
Sponsored Links
Old 08-31-2010, 09:47:06 PM
Registered

Default Re: what paint and primer should i use

What has worked well for me is the two part primer. After drying it seems it has to be ground off. It is self-etching and is real good stuff. I believe it it goes by K1000. Then I use the JD classic green from the dealer. Other folks have real good results with other stuff, also. I use a little hardener with the JD stuff and a mid-temp thinner.
Old 08-31-2010, 09:54:26 PM
Registered

I need the same kind of help. I Googled K1000 two part primer and got nothing on paint. Any other ideas what it is?

Someone else have a good two part etching primer to recommend? Rodney?? I have a lot of horse drawn machinery to go over.

Thanks.

Most respectfully,
Mike Rock
Old 09-01-2010, 11:03:03 AM
Registered

Thanked 4,307 Times in 1,137 Posts