Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Off Topic Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Why do links jump?


this thread has 2 replies and has been viewed 1800 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:34:19 PM
B. K. Lahey's Avatar
B. K. Lahey B. K. Lahey is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beaudesert, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 377
Thanks: 72
Thanked 76 Times in 36 Posts
Default Why do links jump?

Every second link I go to access jumps up the page. I get the cursor on the link, the cursor turns to a finger, I left click it and most times the link moves and I have to do it again, it's no big deal, I just wanna know why??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:05:03 AM
ListerDiesel's Avatar
ListerDiesel ListerDiesel is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rushden, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,603
Thanks: 42
Thanked 2,149 Times in 751 Posts
Default Re: Why do links jump??

It's usually the response time for what you see on your screen to be registered back at the server and come back to you.

What you are watching in real time isn't on your 'puter but at a remote server with a duplex connection link via your modem.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2009, 10:51:27 AM
BTPost's Avatar
BTPost BTPost is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Excursion Inlet, Alaska USA 99850-0090
Posts: 4,833
Thanks: 521
Thanked 1,825 Times in 1,201 Posts
Talking Re: Why do links jump?

It really depends on Link Latency. (How long it takes for your Mouse Move, and Click, to make it to the Remote Server, rattle around there for a few milliseconds, and then return to you) Dialup will be much "jumpier" than DSL or Cable, and a SAT Based Link, can really be the PITS, if the ISP doesn't mitigate the High Latency inherent in that type service....
__________________
Bruce in alaska
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Diesel has taken another price jump!! Daniel Dorece Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion 9 08-03-2008 08:46:03 PM
Jump start for N.A.M.E.S. 2008 PTSideshow Scale Model Engineering 6 04-14-2008 05:46:38 PM
Does your screen jump when in vBChat? Dave Hyatt Antique Engine Archives 4 12-04-2004 08:37:40 PM
Timing of Vert IHC's w/jump spark Fred Antique Engine Archives 3 11-12-2001 02:37:35 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29:00 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277