Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) Restoring, maintaining and operating Generac generators.

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)

Generac Impact 36 problems

this thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 2481 times

Old 04-27-2015, 09:32:13 PM
Registered

Default Generac Impact 36 problems

Hey guys newbie here from TX. Forgive me if this is long winded but it helps describe the problem.

I found this site looking for answers on a problem I am having with my on board generator for my Lance truck camper. First off I am handy around mechanical gadgets although its more of a seat of the pants sort of thing so be gentle.
We are drag racers and I was at the track all weekend. The generator would start up just fine during the day and start the a/c no problem. Then at night when the a/c would cycle it would shut off. I would restart it and get the a/c going and right when I would get to sleep, off again. Finally it would not start the a/c and we had to sleep in the heat.

The next day thinking maybe it was the oil shut off I changed the oil and filter. Once again worked perfect during the day that night off it went and after a while it would not even stay running with no load. I switched bottles same thing. The next morning it started and runs normal. I want to kill this thing. Well not really but it did cause me some horrible nights.

Suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Old 04-27-2015, 10:20:18 PM
In Memory Of

Thanked 3,437 Times in 2,046 Posts
Default Re: Generac Impact 36 problems

move north where you don't need AC ???

Are you sure it's the genset and not your AC unit causing the problems? It sounds like your AC compressor may be over drawing amps on restart and killing the genset.