Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion

FM-Z 1 1/2 HP Governor linkage

this thread has 8 replies and has been viewed 1681 times

Old 10-05-2009, 06:50:14 PM
Registered

Default FM-Z 1 1/2 HP Governor linkage

I'm new to the hobby (at least as an owner) and picked up my first engine at Portland - a Fairbanks-Morse 1 1/2 hp Z S/N 39840? - can't make out the last digit. I got the thing running and the governor pulls the carb open instead of closed as it engages.
Does anyone have a picture of the linkage setup that they could post or email to me? I do have a manual on the way, just hoping for something fun to do this evening. Thanks in advance, Kent
Sponsored Links
Old 10-05-2009, 09:06:19 PM
Subscriber

Default Re: FM-Z 1 1/2 HP Governor linkage

It sounds like the spring may be wraped the wrong way.
Old 10-07-2009, 07:36:58 PM
Registered

Please bear with me on this as I'm fairly ignorant on these engines... I have reversed the spring on the carb and this does indeed make the governor work as it should but if anything fails in the governor linkage etc. the engine will now runaway at full throttle. Am I missing something here or is this just how things were done in 1919? Thanks as always.
Old 10-07-2009, 08:46:35 PM
Sky

On all throttlers to my knowlage, started wide open and then the governor kicked in to shut the throttle once RPM was significant. If your governor/engine is set up other wise, i dont know what could possibly be wrong as the factory governor set up was so simple, it eaither works or doesnt.
Old 10-07-2009, 08:55:37 PM
Hoarder