Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs Discussion about magnetos, buzz coils, spark plugs, ignitors and low tension coils.

Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs

1955 Allis-Chalmers WD-45 Magneto

this thread has 13 replies and has been viewed 8473 times

Old 12-06-2012, 08:51:30 AM
Registered

Default 1955 Allis-Chalmers WD-45 Magneto

I am a complete novice at this sort of thing so here goes. I only recently found out that my old tractor is fired by a magneto. The tractor has been previously converted to 12 volt, but that shouldn't make a difference to the magneto, I think. Anyway, the tractor has suddenly decided to not run. In my inspection, I found that all the wiring insulation is rotting and falling apart. I have ordered a new wiring harness.
I took the magneto (Fairbanks Morse FMX-4B) apart and detected a burned wiring smell. I removed all the components and filed the points and then reassembled everything. Miraculously, the tractor cranked.........twice. Now, it will not hit at all even though the starter is functioning properly. Everything has been taken loose except the magneto, the battery and starter. there is no other wiring on the tractor presently.
Where do I start troubleshooting the magneto? I have looked at a couple of diagrams and can now name the parts, but I'm not sure which parts may be the culprits. My uneducated guess is that the coil has gone bad, particularly based on the burning wiring smell that I mentioned earlier.

Anyway, looking for advice from folks smarter than me in these matters.
Thanks in advance.
Dan
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2012, 11:45:31 AM
In Memory Of

Thanked 7,767 Times in 2,942 Posts
Default Re: 1955 Allis-Chalmers WD-45 Magneto

Dan: