Oil Field Engines
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment OFES members otherwise known as "Oafs". If you like "BIG OLD GREASY RUSTY OIL FIELD ENGINES, you're in the right place. Founded by Russell Farmer.

Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment

739 Fairbanks Questions


this thread has 52 replies and has been viewed 5663 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:27:08 AM
Doug Waggonner's Avatar
Doug Waggonner Doug Waggonner is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Catoosa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 814
Thanked 887 Times in 376 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

You will have much better control of the engine if you'll run it on propane or natural gas.

Still waiting to see the video....
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Waggonner For This Post:
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:07:25 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

There is a good video of engine running in post #31 .
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:55:56 AM
Doug Waggonner's Avatar
Doug Waggonner Doug Waggonner is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Catoosa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 814
Thanked 887 Times in 376 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Finally got to see the video last night. youtube doesnt work here at work Have you hooked up the throttle rod, choke plate, and propane yet?
It will also help you if you'll install a pit cock there on the side of the cyl to use as a decompression valve. It also makes a good spot to squirt some gasoline into for starting.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Waggonner For This Post:
  #44  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:19:24 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Doug
I'm going to work on it some more this weekend. I have all the parts. ( just not on the engine yet, I'd waited long enough to see and hear it run ! )

Engine has a compression release about 10 inches from the cylinder head . ( close to the push rod )


If I run engine on propane would it still be o.k. to prime it with gasoline ?

How would be the best way plumb the propane ? ( I was thinking from the bottle to the gas valve to the regulator to the carb. )

This will be my first engine that will run on propane . (don't really want to get blown up or anything like that !!!! )
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:59:40 PM
Eric M.'s Avatar
Eric M. Eric M. is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 2,107
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 1,089 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Propane is EASY. You have to fiddle and futz with it a bit, but once it's dialed in, it's sweet to run. I have run engines on setups as simple as sticking a fuel line into the carburetor.

You will want the setup to be as follows: Tank, regulator, gas valve, engine. The gas valve must be between the regulator and the engine, or you might as well not run the regulator. As gas goes from higher pressure to lower pressure, it expands greatly, and if you're adjusting the flow on the high pressure side, it will be impossible to make any adjustments to the engine's running characteristics.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Eric M. For This Post:
  #46  
Old 03-24-2010, 05:01:32 PM
Doug Waggonner's Avatar
Doug Waggonner Doug Waggonner is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Catoosa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 814
Thanked 887 Times in 376 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

I know what you mean Pete! I think all of us have started an engine that we havent put all the bells and whistles on yet. I know I have!

You plumb your propane into the 3/4" or 1" pipe that is coming from the bottom of your carb.
You can start it on gasoline by squirting it in the hole of the decompression release, once it fires 2 or 3 times close the compression release, and turn on the propane.
You'll plumb it from the propane tank / regulator, to the gas cock, then to the carb. I'd bet the gas cock was installed into that 90 degree elbow under your carb.
Propane is the only way to go, once you get used to it you'll wanna run all your engines on propane........ Hank Hill would be so proud of me!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Waggonner For This Post:
  #47  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:03:08 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Thanks Eric and Doug,
I guess I was pretty close on the pluming . I was thinking about putting a extra shut-off valve in the line so I wouldn't have to mess with the gas adjustment on the gas cock, or do you turn gas off at the tank ?

Doug , Hank does like his propane !

Thanks again, Pete
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:16:07 PM
Doug Waggonner's Avatar
Doug Waggonner Doug Waggonner is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Catoosa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 814
Thanked 887 Times in 376 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

You can just shut the propane off at the tank.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Waggonner For This Post:
  #49  
Old 03-29-2010, 08:31:29 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Propane question !

How much gas pressure should I have after the regulator ?

The regulator I have is 3 to 6 oz.

Thanks, Pete
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-29-2010, 08:33:56 PM
Reed Engine's Avatar
Reed Engine Reed Engine is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hominy, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,083
Thanks: 1,749
Thanked 4,511 Times in 1,750 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

3 to 6 is fine, more than that will cause problems though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Reed Engine For This Post:
  #51  
Old 04-18-2010, 08:13:50 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Just wanted to update this thread !!

Ran engine for the first time on propane, for a little over 8 hours . It seems to run a lot better with propane then on gasoline .

In the 8 hours it used about half of a 100 lb. tank. That seems like it is a lot of gas to me . Engine is running about 300 rpm's .

Is this to much gas, or about normal for that speed ?

I would like to get the speed down to at least 200 rpm's. Will that make much difference in the amount of gas used ?


Thanks ,Pete
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-21-2010, 02:19:35 PM
DaveTexas DaveTexas is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 432
Thanks: 155
Thanked 322 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

When using propane on these engines are you guys using a demand regulator or controling it using a valve as stated above?

I would think with the demand regulator you wouldn't have to fiddle with it if the load on the engine went up or down but I'm far from being an expert!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-23-2010, 10:38:52 PM
Pete Nichols Pete Nichols is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Clay Co., West Virginia
Posts: 484
Thanks: 724
Thanked 249 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: 739 Fairbanks Questions

Dave,
Everyone seems to say that a throttle-governed engine doesn't need a on demand regulator .( using a 6 oz.grill regulator )

I'm controlling the gas with a diamond gas valve .

Just need to find some time to mess with engine some more ! ( to many projects going at one time )


Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Questions on Fairbanks Morse Shine Stringer Antique Gas Engine Discussion 10 10-03-2007 02:38:16 AM
fairbanks za questions earniemanson Antique Gas Engine Discussion 3 10-12-2006 01:05:14 PM
Fairbanks T Questions Larry K Antique Gas Engine Discussion 17 04-08-2005 10:58:34 PM
Fairbanks questions Darryl Boyd Antique Engine Archives 0 09-21-2002 05:22:06 PM
More Fairbanks H questions scott Antique Engine Archives 8 01-07-2001 06:41:05 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39:37 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277